Because personal injury attorneys are required to be accredited with a state’s own bar to practice law in the area, it’s uncommon to find firms who will take PI claims nationwide. If your firm is considering expanding into a new state, you’ll likely want to choose a state nearby. While this is great for travel costs, not all states are perfect for filing personal injury claims. Here are some of the best states to practice personal injury law in.
Massachusetts is a great state to take personal injury claims because the state has the lowest percentage of uninsured drivers. Less than 4% of MA drivers do not have insurance, meaning your firm can skip the hassle of finding someone to take to court. With plenty of insured drivers, your firm will have a better chance of getting a fair settlement.
Massachusetts’ no-fault insurance also restricts drivers to file personal injury claims unless they’ve received at least $2,000 in medical bills, meaning that it’ll be less likely that your clients will have smaller “soft tissue” claims.
#2: North Dakota
North Dakota is tied #1 with the longest statute of limitations for PI claims. This means that you’ll have plenty of time to file and win a personal injury claim.
What North Dakota also has a lot of are car crashes. According to data gathered by The Daily Beast, per capita, North Dakota is the deadliest state for drivers. North Dakota drivers are the worst in the state at signaling when they’re turning. They’re also the 6th most careless or inattentive drivers. All of these statistics mean that your firm will have plenty of auto accident claims!
Maine is a great state for PI claims for a few reasons. First, Maine and North Dakota are the only states that have a statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim of 6 years. This means that claimants who contact you from Maine could have a claim from back in 2011 that’s still valid.
Maine also has some of the best mandatory auto insurance coverage in the country. Maine requires drivers to carry $100,000 in bodily injury liability, plus $100,000 in uninsured/underinsured bodily injury. This means that if your client is hit by an uninsured driver, he or she is covered.
Another perk of all three states? They’re all cold. Brutal winters mean that shoppers and pedestrians will be more likely to slip and fall if businesses neglect to use salt to de-ice sidewalks, or forget to put up “wet floor” signs. This means your firm will get more cases during the winter months instead of experiencing an all-too-common seasonal slump. This helps them become one of the best states for personal injury lawyers.
Expanding Your Case Load?
If you’d like to take more cases across the country, give us a call today at 617.800.0089. We currently generate personal injury leads in all 50 states. We’d love to discuss our personal injury lead availability and pricing with you and the members of your staff today!